0845 833 8931
info@soasafety.co.uk

Designing Products Safely

For further information on any of our courses please contact our Training Coordinator on 0845 833 8931 or email training@soasafety.co.uk.

Course Dates

Dates for this course have not been published and are available on request.
Please click here to contact us

Price

�170.00 + VAT per delegate
GROUP DISCOUNT �2500.00 + VAT

Duration

6 hours

Course Summary

This one-day course is an introduction to Product Safety aimed at persons involved in work equipment design, manufacture, supply and maintenance. It explains Product Safety in the context of Workplace Safety, the duties of those involved, safety engineering processes and how they fit with the product lifecycle. It introduces safety engineering techniques and provides delegates with practical experience of applying some of those most commonly used.

With presentations, group discussions, videos and trainer-led exercises, it explains Engineering Safe Products processes and how they apply in different national and industry sector contexts.

SOA Engineering have delivered safety engineering training worldwide since 2012 with outstanding results. This course can be delivered as a generic interpretation of Engineering Safe Products or tailored for your company, industry or country


Who should attend?

Work equipment (systems, equipment, vehicles, facilities, buildings) must, by design, manufacture and installation

ensure so far as is reasonably practicable, that they are without risks to health and safety. This is a legal requirement and all those involved with engineering products need to understand their role in ensuring safety; failure to do so is harmful to people, illegal and damaging to your business.


Learning Objectives

At the end of this course you should be able to:

  • Awareness of the current legislation pertaining to product design and operation in the workplace.
  • An understanding of your responsibilities as a supplier of products.
  • Awareness of what products are and their typical applications when used within the business or sold as a product.
  • Understanding of the product design and life cycle,
  • knowledge of the typical hazards
  • cause, effects and consequence of risks associated with designing and operation products. Understanding the term “So Far As Reasonably Practical (SFARP)” in relation to the Health and Safety workplace legislation.

Programme

The course content will cover:

  • What is Product Safety? Introduces commonly-used product safety key words and illustrates the difference between health and safety and product safety. The focus is on the primary drivers for product safety, highlighting incidents across different industries.
  • Hazard Identification Looks at the critical first step in dealing with the safety of a product, gaining a good understanding of the hazards associated with its use and how harm can occur. Several commonly-used hazard identification and hazard analysis techniques are covered, with taster sessions and guidance for selecting methods for different applications.
  • Hazard Analysis Building on the previous step which identified the hazards, this section explains how the hazards are then analysed to understand the potential underlying causes, contributing factors and pathways for the progression to accidents and harm.
  • Eliminate Hazards and Control Risks This section investigates how potential risk reduction measures are identified and how to decide which are "Reasonably Practicable" and should therefore be implemented. This is in accordance with codes of practice and a guiding principle throughout industrialised countries and industry sectors.
  • Accept, Monitor and Review This section focuses on the criteria and responsibilities for accepting the residual risk and discusses the through-life procedures for monitoring and reviewing product safety. The client-customer boundaries (scope of responsibility) are also discussed.
  • Ensuring Safety Finally, by reflecting on the key processes above, the essential components of product safety management systems and organisations are developed. Key functions such as safety leadership, governance, active and reactive monitoring are introduced, as well as the concept of a "safety case"

Certification

SOA Certificate of Achievement

The course has learning checks after each module (Not assessed) and completes with a 20 question exam with multiple choice answers.

Next few courses View all
Fire Warden Training
Fri 15 Dec 2017
Fire Warden Training
Fri 15 Dec 2017
Fire Awareness Training
Thu 11 Jan 2018
Fire Warden Training
Mon 15 Jan 2018
Risk Assessment
Thu 18 Jan 2018
COSHH Awareness
Thu 18 Jan 2018
Fire Warden Training
Tue 30 Jan 2018
Fire Warden Training
Wed 31 Jan 2018
IOSH Working Safely
Thu 08 Feb 2018
Fire Awareness Training
Thu 08 Feb 2018
IOSH Working Safely
Fri 09 Feb 2018
Fire Warden Training
Mon 19 Feb 2018
Manual Handling
Tue 20 Feb 2018
Fire Warden Training
Wed 28 Feb 2018
Paediatric First Aid
Thu 08 Mar 2018
Fire Awareness Training
Thu 08 Mar 2018
IOSH Managing Safely
Mon 12 Mar 2018
NEBOSH Environmental
Mon 19 Mar 2018
Fire Awareness Training
Tue 20 Mar 2018
PAT Testing Training
Thu 22 Mar 2018
Fire Warden Training
Thu 29 Mar 2018
Fire Awareness Training
Thu 12 Apr 2018
Health & Safety
Thu 26 Apr 2018
Risk Assessment
Thu 26 Apr 2018
Fire Warden Training
Mon 30 Apr 2018
Fire Awareness Training
Thu 17 May 2018
Fire Warden Training
Thu 31 May 2018
Fire Awareness Training
Thu 07 Jun 2018
Paediatric First Aid
Wed 13 Jun 2018
PASMA
Fri 22 Jun 2018
Fire Warden Training
Fri 29 Jun 2018
Fire Awareness Training
Thu 05 Jul 2018
Manual Handling
Wed 18 Jul 2018
Fire Warden Training
Tue 31 Jul 2018
Fire Awareness Training
Thu 09 Aug 2018
Fire Warden Training
Fri 31 Aug 2018
Fire Awareness Training
Thu 06 Sep 2018
Fire Warden Training
Fri 28 Sep 2018
Paediatric First Aid
Wed 10 Oct 2018
PAT Testing Training
Tue 30 Oct 2018
Fire Warden Training
Wed 31 Oct 2018
NEBOSH Construction
Mon 05 Nov 2018
IOSH Managing Safely
Mon 12 Nov 2018
Fire Warden Training
Fri 30 Nov 2018
Fire Warden Training
Fri 14 Dec 2018
Latest newsView all
Testimonials
Copyright © 2012 SOA Safety.
Registered Company No. 05925152. All Rights Reserved.
Tel: +44 (0)1229 808 320
Fax: +44 (0)1229 808 324
Email: info@soasafety.co.uk