0845 833 8931
info@soasafety.co.uk

NEBOSH Fire Safety and Risk Management

For further information on any of our courses please contact our Training Coordinator on 0845 833 8931 or email training@soasafety.co.uk.

Course Dates

Dates and venue
Availability
Book online

Mon 23 Apr 2018
Standsure House TR1, Barrow in furness
19

Price

�700.00 + VAT per delegate

Duration

30 hours

Course Summary

The NEBOSH Certificate in Fire Safety and Risk Management syllabus consists of three units: Unit NGC1 - Management of Health and Safety (not covered here), Unit FC1 - Fire Safety and Risk Managment and Unit FC2 - Practical Fire Risk Assessment.

The course covers the management of health and safety and in particular fire safety including legal requirements.

It also includes principles of fire and explosion, causes and prevention of fires, fire protection in buildings and ensuring the safety of people in the event of fire.

Delegates will be equiped to carry out fire risk assessments of most low risk workplaces and identify the range of fire protective and preventative measures required.


Who should attend?

Managers and supervisory staff who need to ensure that their organisation meets its responsibilities under fire safety legislation.

It is also suitable for people moving into fire safety adviser roles.

No previous health and safety or fire safety knowledge is required although it should be noted that the assessment includes a requirement to write a short report.


Learning Objectives

At the end of this course you should be able to:

  • Unit FC1
  • knowledge of the legal framework and the roles/powers of enforcement agencies
  • understanding of the key elements of a fire safety management system
  • ability to identify the principles behind ignition and spread of fire and to implement appropriate control measures to minimise fire risks
  • knowledge on fire protection and prevention of fire spread within buildings
  • knowledge on means of escape and the implementation of evacuation procedures
  • understanding of the methods and systems available to give early warning in case of fire, both for life safety and property protection
  • ability to determine the appropriate level and type of detection within premises
  • knowledge on the basic fire extinguishing methods for life risk and process risk
  • understanding of fire risk assessment techniques to determine risk levels
  • abilities to identify workplace fire hazards and preventive/protective measures
  • Unit FC2
  • skills to carry out a fire risk assessment of a workplace, evaluating the significant fire hazards present and, where necessary, suggesting appropriate remedial action
  • skills in producing reports that explain the concerns to urge management to implement the remedial actions needed to be taken

Programme

The course content will cover:

  • managing fire safely
  • principles of fire and explosion
  • causes and prevention of fire
  • fire protection in buildings
  • safety of people in the event of fire
  • fire risk assessment
  • practical fire risk assessment
  • There are two assessment elements:
  • 1) Written - formal exams: NGC1 and/or FC1 (2hrs each)
  • 2) Practical - 45 minute fire risk assessment of a workplace followed by a summary of the assessment and a handwritten report to be completed in 90 minutes.

Certification

Successful completion of the course assessment and practical fire risk assessment leads to the award of the internationally recognised NEBOSH certificate.

Next few courses View all
Fire Warden Training
Fri 15 Dec 2017
Fire Warden Training
Fri 15 Dec 2017
Fire Awareness Training
Thu 11 Jan 2018
Fire Warden Training
Mon 15 Jan 2018
Risk Assessment
Thu 18 Jan 2018
COSHH Awareness
Thu 18 Jan 2018
Fire Warden Training
Tue 30 Jan 2018
Fire Warden Training
Wed 31 Jan 2018
IOSH Working Safely
Thu 08 Feb 2018
Fire Awareness Training
Thu 08 Feb 2018
IOSH Working Safely
Fri 09 Feb 2018
Fire Warden Training
Mon 19 Feb 2018
Manual Handling
Tue 20 Feb 2018
Fire Warden Training
Wed 28 Feb 2018
Paediatric First Aid
Thu 08 Mar 2018
Fire Awareness Training
Thu 08 Mar 2018
IOSH Managing Safely
Mon 12 Mar 2018
NEBOSH Environmental
Mon 19 Mar 2018
Fire Awareness Training
Tue 20 Mar 2018
PAT Testing Training
Thu 22 Mar 2018
Fire Warden Training
Thu 29 Mar 2018
Fire Awareness Training
Thu 12 Apr 2018
Health & Safety
Thu 26 Apr 2018
Risk Assessment
Thu 26 Apr 2018
Fire Warden Training
Mon 30 Apr 2018
Fire Awareness Training
Thu 17 May 2018
Fire Warden Training
Thu 31 May 2018
Fire Awareness Training
Thu 07 Jun 2018
Paediatric First Aid
Wed 13 Jun 2018
PASMA
Fri 22 Jun 2018
Fire Warden Training
Fri 29 Jun 2018
Fire Awareness Training
Thu 05 Jul 2018
Manual Handling
Wed 18 Jul 2018
Fire Warden Training
Tue 31 Jul 2018
Fire Awareness Training
Thu 09 Aug 2018
Fire Warden Training
Fri 31 Aug 2018
Fire Awareness Training
Thu 06 Sep 2018
Fire Warden Training
Fri 28 Sep 2018
Paediatric First Aid
Wed 10 Oct 2018
PAT Testing Training
Tue 30 Oct 2018
Fire Warden Training
Wed 31 Oct 2018
NEBOSH Construction
Mon 05 Nov 2018
IOSH Managing Safely
Mon 12 Nov 2018
Fire Warden Training
Fri 30 Nov 2018
Fire Warden Training
Fri 14 Dec 2018
Latest newsView all
Testimonials
Copyright © 2012 SOA Safety.
Registered Company No. 05925152. All Rights Reserved.
Tel: +44 (0)1229 808 320
Fax: +44 (0)1229 808 324
Email: info@soasafety.co.uk